

Minutes of the 2020 Annual General Meeting of Tennis Auckland Region Inc. Scarbro Tennis Centre | Thursday 15 October 2020 | 7:30pm

PRESENT

Clubs: Blockhouse Bay, Bucklands Beach, Campbell Park, Cockle Bay, Dunholme, Gladstone, Hunua, Jellicoe Park, Karaka, Kohimarama, Manurewa, Mission Bay, Mt Albert, Orakei, Pakuranga, Parnell, Pt Chevalier, Remuera, Riverside, Royal Oak, West End, Winstone Park Honorary Sub Assoc: Pascoe Cup Life Members: Pam Sowter, Alan White, Guy Nash, John Barry, Peter Wilson Board Members: Simon Vannini, Howard Lewis, Amanda Hopkins, Tony Gardner, John McGill President: Ross Pickett Vice President: Graham Windross Past Presidents: Chris Day, Don Cotter, Angela Hart Committees: Emeritus – Pam Sowter, Jill Bignell, Guy Nash, Kevin Long, Angela Hart, Alan White Club Advisory & Support – Don Sim, Angela Hart, Paul Harvey, Carol Bourne, Judy Bent Staff: Mark Lewis, Paula Macks, David Frank, Ann Hill, Rhonda Karl, Karl Budge, James Greenhalgh

APOLOGIES

Clubs: Eden Epsom, Howick, New Lynn, Sunnyhills Tennis NZ: Kevin Woolcott Past Presidents: Tony Robinson Life Members: Colleen Edmonds, Jeff Robson, Peter Thomson, Barry Ryder, Roger Harvey, Alan Chester Board Members: Scott Coldham, Liz Coutts, Sean Leonard

Welcome

President Ross Pickett and Chairman Simon Vannini welcomed Life Members, Board Members, Delegates, Associations and Staff to the 2020 Tennis Auckland AGM.

A special mention was made acknowledging the passing of Dick and Desrae Garratt's son, Patrick Garratt. Our sincerest condolences from the Tennis Auckland community.

The meeting opened at 7:30pm.

Roll Call/Apologies

As per above.

Voting Rights for Honorary Sub Associations

It was proposed the Honorary Sub Associations – being Tennis Auckland Umpires Association, Tennis Seniors Auckland, Tennis Seniors South Auckland and Pascoe Cup; including clubs with fewer than 50 members, be given voting rights at this AGM.

Proposed – Alan White Carried Seconded – Angela Hart

Adoption of Minutes of 2019 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting of 17 October 2019, having been circulated, were taken as read and confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting.

Moved –Guy Nash Carried Seconded – Chris Day

Business Arising from Minutes No business arising.

PRESENTATION OF 2020 FINANCIAL RESULTS

Chairman

Chairman Simon Vannini welcomed Tennis Auckland Board Members with a brief introduction on each of their backgrounds and their roles on the Board, including the sub-committees and thanked them for their time and contribution over the past year.

Financial Overview Simon Vannini

Simon Vannini presented Tennis Auckland's overview for the year. He presented the financial results as reported in the 2020 Annual Report and an overview of the 2020/21 financial budget.

Strategic Update

Simon Vannini

Simon Vannini presented Tennis Auckland's strategic overview and key focus for 2020/21 (as attached to these minutes)

Receipt and Adoption of 2020 Annual Report and 2020 audited Financial Statement of Accounts

Moved – Peter Wilson Carried Seconded – Alan White

Election of President

It was proposed that Graham Windross be elected as President of Tennis Auckland commencing at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM and ending at the conclusion of the 2021 AGM.

Moved – Alan White Carried Seconded – Leo McCormack

Election of Vice President

The Emeritus Committee recommended Greg Long be elected as Vice President for the coming year. Don Cotter, representing Remuera Tennis Club spoke to Greg's nomination.

It was proposed that Greg Long be elected as Vice President of Tennis Auckland commencing at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM and ending at the conclusion of the 2021 AGM.

Moved – Don Cotter Carried Seconded – Alan White

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

> Appointed Board Member (3 Year Term)

There were no Appointed Board Member positions available this year.

Elected Board Member (3 Year Term)

There were three positions available this year. Tony Gardner and John McGill were stepping down from the Board and Howard Lewis was seeking re-election.

There were six nominations received from Dwayne Cleugh, Martin Colenbrander, Imogen Golder, Howard Lewis, Leo McCormack and Craig Rice.

Ross Pickett confirmed that the Board Appointments Panel had unanimously recommended the election of Imogen Golder, Howard Lewis and Craig Rice following the formal appointment process as per the Tennis Auckland Constitution (Part 14.5 e).

Don Cotter and Jo Noonan were appointed as scrutineers to count the vote. A secret ballot followed.

The voting result was Imogen Golder, Howard Lewis and Craig Rice be elected to the Board for a three year period.

Tennis Auckland Awards

While the voting was being counted, a selection of Tennis Auckland club awards were presented.

We would like to congratulate all the award winners from the 2019/20 season:

- Junior Interclub Club of the Year
- Midweek Ladies Interclub Club of the Year
- Senior Interclub Club of the Year •
- Interclub Controller of the Year
- Coach of the Year
- Volunteer of the Year
- Facilities
- Administration
- Event
- Marketing, Membership & Promotion
- Club Spirit
- Overall Club of the Year

- Blockhouse Bay
- Bucklands Beach
- Pompallier
- David Gordon (Winstone Park)
- Will Todd (Orakei)
- Greg Harnett (Clevedon)
- Parnell
- Pt Chevalier
- Orakei
- Dunholme
- Winstone Park
- Winstone Park
- Honours Awards Gold for 20 Years Club Service
 - lan Hay (Pt Chevalier) •
 - Mike Frankle (Cockle Bay)
 - Brian Craig (Cockle Bay)

Honours Awards – Silver for 10 Years Club Service

- Ian Gordon (Howick)
- Ronda Clark (Dunholme)
- Jo-Ann Johnson (Dunholme)
- Lydia Street (Koru)
- Steve Morris (Koru)

Action Committees

Emeritus Committee

A special mention was made to recognize the retirement of Roger Harvey and Pam Sowter, who have been long standing valuable members of this committee.

It was proposed the Emeritus Committee comprising Alan White (Board Representative), Jill Bignell, Kevin Long, Guy Nash and Angela Hart be appointed for the 2020/21 year.

Moved – Pam Sowter Seconded – Graham Windross Carried

Club Advisory and Support Committee

It was proposed the Club Advisory and Support Action Committee comprising of Paul Harvey (Board Representative), Don Sim, Judy Bent, Carol Bourne, Angela Hart, Feleti Sofele and Suzie Strachan be elected for the 2020/21 year.

Moved – Alan White Carried

Centre Judiciary Committee

Tennis Auckland Board noted that the Centre Judiciary Committee is currently comprised of – Alan Gluestein, Peter Stokes, Elliot Burcher, John Barry, Julia Sim and Chris Day. These appointments are reviewed by the Centre Board.

Appointment of Auditor

It was proposed that the Tennis Auckland Board shall appoint KPMG as Auditor for the 2020/21 financial year.

Moved – Howard Lewis Carried Seconded – Angela Hart

Seconded – Guy Nash

Determination of Affiliation Fees for the 2020/21 financial year 12. 2020/21 Affiliation fees

THAT the Affiliation fee for 2020/21 financial year be set at \$34.41 plus GST for Adults 35+, Adults 19-34 and Juniors 12-18 (all as at 30/04/2021) and at \$25.60 plus GST for Juniors 11 & under (as at 30/04/2021).

Moved – Angela Hart One against (Royal Oak) Carried Seconded – Suzie Strachan

General Business

No items of General Business were received.

Simon Vannini thanked Ross Pickett for his valued contribution during his tenure as President of Tennis Auckland.

A special thanks was also made to exiting Board members Tony Gardner and John McGill for their valuable contribution to the Board of Tennis Auckland over their years on the Board.

No further business. Ross Pickett closed the meeting at 9:15pm