

Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting of Tennis Auckland Region Inc. Scarbro Tennis Centre | Thursday 17 October 2019 | 7:30pm

PRESENT

Clubs: Blockhouse Bay, Bucklands Beach, Campbell Park, Cockle Bay, Eden Epsom, Glendowie, Howick, Jellicoe Park, Koru, Mission Bay, Mt Albert, New Lynn, Orakei, Pakuranga, Parnell, Pt Chevalier, Remuera, Riverside, Royal Oak, Sunnyhills, Te Atatu, Te Pai Park, Waiata Epsom, Winstone Park

Honorary Sub Assoc: Pascoe Cup, Umpires Association, Tennis Seniors South Auckland

Life Members: Pam Sowter, Alan Chester, Guy Nash, John Barry

Board Members: Simon Vannini, Howard Lewis, Amanda Hopkins, Tony Gardner, John McGill,

Liz Coutts, Scott Coldham

President: Angela Hart

Vice President: Ross Pickett

Past Presidents: Chris Day, Don Cotter, Alan Sorrell

Committees: Emeritus – Pam Sowter, Jill Bignell, Guy Nash, Kevin Long

Club Advisory & Support – Don Sim, Angela Hart, Paul Harvey, Carol Bourne

Affiliations: Terri-Ann Scorer (TNZ), Kevin Woolcott (TNZ)

Staff: Marcus Reynolds, Mark Lewis, Paula Macks, David Frank, Ann Hill, David Guy

APOLOGIES

Clubs: Manurewa, Karaka

Committees: Judy Bent (Club Support), Elliott Burcher (Judiciary)

Tennis NZ: Julie Patterson, Celia Patrick **Immediate Past President:** Tony Robinson

Past Presidents: Dick Garratt

Life Members: Colleen Edmonds, Alan White, Jeff Robson, Peter Thomson, Barry Ryder,

Roger Harvey, Peter Wilson

Welcome

President Angela Hart and Chairman Simon Vannini welcomed Life Members, Board Members, Delegates, Associations and Staff. Simon Vannini also welcomed and introduced representatives from Tennis NZ - Alan Sorrell (Board Member), Terri-Ann Scorer (Chair) and Kevin Woolcott who has been newly appointed Vice President of Tennis NZ.

A special mention was made acknowledging the passing of life member Tom Kiely, past honorary solicitor Bruce Berman and past president, Heather Robson. Angela Hart spoke about all three of our long serving association members and their valued contribution to the Tennis Auckland community.

The meeting opened at 7:30pm.

Roll Call/Apologies

As per above.

Voting Rights for Honorary Sub Associations

It was proposed the Honorary Sub Associations – being Tennis Auckland Umpires Association, Tennis Seniors Auckland, Tennis Seniors South Auckland and Pascoe Cup; including clubs with fewer than 50 members, be given voting rights at this AGM.

Proposed – Tony Gardner Seconded – Lynly Barry
The majority were in favour (1 opposed – Campbell Park)
Carried

Adoption of Minutes of 2018 Annual General Meeting

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting of 11 October 2018, having been circulated, were taken as read and confirmed as a true and correct record of that meeting.

Moved –Guy Nash

Seconded – Scott Coldham

Carried

Business Arising from Minutes

No business arising.

PRESENTATION OF 2019 FINANCIAL RESULTS

Chairman Simon Vannini

Chairman Simon Vannini welcomed Tennis Auckland Board Members with a brief introduction on each of their backgrounds and their roles on the Board, including the four sub-committees and thanked them for their time and contribution over the past year.

Financial Overview CEO Marcus Reynolds

Marcus Reynolds presented Tennis Auckland's overview for the year. He presented the financial results as reported in the 2019 Annual Report and an overview of the 2019/20 financial budget.

Strategic Update CEO Marcus Reynolds

Marcus Reynolds presented Tennis Auckland's Strategy overview and key focus for 2019/20 (as attached to these minutes)

Receipt and Adoption of 2019 Annual Report and 2019 audited Financial Statement of Accounts

Moved – Chris Day Seconded – John Barry Carried

Election of President

It was proposed that Ross Pickett be elected as President of Tennis Auckland commencing at the conclusion of the 2019 AGM, and ending at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM.

Moved – Angela Hart Seconded – Tony Gardner Carried

Election of Vice President

The Emeritus Committee recommended Graham Windross be elected as Vice President for the coming year. Michelle Braid, representing Sunnyhills Tennis Club spoke to Grahams' nomination.

It was proposed that Graham Windross be elected as Vice President of Tennis Auckland commencing at the conclusion of the 2019 AGM and ending at the conclusion of the 2020 AGM.

Moved – Michelle Braid Carried Seconded – Leo McCormack

Life Member

Kevin Long was nominated for Life Membership of Tennis Auckland by Remuera Tennis Club, seconded by Kohimarama Tennis Club. Kevin's nomination was approved and seconded by the Emeritus Committee and the Board.

Jill Bignell, representing Remuera Tennis Club and Guy Nash, representing Kohimarama Tennis Club both spoke outlining Kevin's contribution to tennis.

Kevin Long accepted Life Membership of Tennis Auckland.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

▶ Elected Board Member (3 Year Term)

There was one Elected Board Member position available this year.

There was 1 nomination received from Amanda Hopkins. Simon Vannini invited Amanda to speak on her nomination.

In a 'show of hands' vote Amanda Hopkins was elected to the Tennis Auckland Board which took effect at the end of the AGM.

> Appointed Board Member (3 Year Term)

There was one position available this year and Garry Scarborough was not seeking re-appointment. Simon Vannini confirmed that the Board Appointments Panel have appointed Sean Leonard for a 3 year term to the Tennis Auckland Board which took effect at the end of the AGM.

Simon Vannini thanked Garry Scarborough for his 11 years on the Board of Tennis Auckland and his valuable contribution particularly with the redevelopment of the stadium.

Thiem Nguyen has been appointed as an intern Board member of Tennis Auckland. He is not a formal director, nor does he have any voting rights but it is an opportunity for Thiem to learn about governance on the board of a sporting organization and take these skills back into the world of community sport.

Action Committees

Emeritus Committee

It was proposed the Emeritus Committee comprising Alan White (Board Representative), Roger Harvey, Jill Bignell, Pam Sowter, Kevin Long, Guy Nash and Angela Hart be appointed for the 2019/20 year.

Moved – Ross Pickett

Seconded – Chris Day

Carried

Club Advisory and Support Committee

It was proposed the Club Advisory and Support Action Committee comprising of Paul Harvey (Board Representative), Don Sim, Judy Bent, Angela Hart, Feleti Sofele and Carol Bourne be elected for the 2019/20 year.

Moved – Guy Nash

Seconded – Don Cotter

Carried

> Centre Judiciary Committee

Tennis Auckland Board noted that the Centre Judiciary Committee is currently made up of – Alan Gluestein, Peter Stokes, Elliot Burcher, John Barry, Julia Sim, Tim MacAvoy and Chris Day. These appointments are reviewed by the Centre Board.

Appointment of Auditor

It was proposed that the Tennis Auckland Board shall appoint KPMG as Auditor for the 2019/20 financial year.

Moved – Angela Hart

Seconded – Jill Bignell

Carried

Determination of Affiliation Fees for the 2019/20 financial year 12. 2019/20 Affiliation fees

THAT the Affiliation fee for 2019/20 financial year be set at \$40.63 plus GST for Adults 19-34 and Juniors 12-18 (all as at 30/04/2020) and at \$28.05 plus GST for Juniors 11 & under (as at 30/04/2020).

Moved – Angela Hart

Seconded – John Barry

Carried

General Business

No items of General Business were received.

Simon Vannini thanked Angela Hart for her valued contribution during her tenure as President of Tennis Auckland.

No further business. Angela Hart closed the meeting at 8:40pm